Contact Information

Human Sexuality Research Laboratory

University of Ottawa
136 Jean-Jacques Lussier
Vanier Hall
Room 3001
School of Psychology
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
K1N 6N5

Tel.: 613-562-5800
ext. 2220

Elke.Reissing@uOttawa.ca

Biography

Jocelyn Wentland

Jocelyn WentlandI am a doctoral student in the Experimental Psychology program at the University of Ottawa. I completed an Honours Psychology BA at the University of British Columbia – Okanagan. For my honours thesis, I examined reasons why women engage in casual sex. I completed my Master of Science at the University of Guelph where I was working with Dr Ed Herold and Dr Serge Desmarais on a project to identify the main constructs that identify highly sexual women from less sexual women. My master’s thesis on highly sexual women was published last year.Click here for a link to the paper.

As part of my doctoral research at the University of Ottawa, I am conducting research on the different terms that are used to describe various casual sex relationships and how these relationships differ from each other. For example, how is a Friend with Benefit negotiated? What is a Booty Call? How do you arrange a hook-up with a Friend with Benefit or a Booty Call? Do you ever contact your One Night Stand again?

I am also collaborating with colleagues from the University of Guelph where we are examining the current dating script and how technology is changing the way we meet and connect with potential dating partners. Some of the questions we are interested include: Is it okay to Google someone before a first date? Is it okay to ask someone out via text?

This past year I published a qualitative paper with a colleague from the University of Guelph. As part of a larger project on women who have had erotic photographs taken of themselves, we interviewed photographers who participate in erotic/boudoir photography as part of their photography business.Click here for a link to the paper.

I enjoy being part of the Ottawa community. I sit on the Board of Directors for Planned Parenthood Ottawa and work with the University of Ottawa’s Sexual Health team of Health Promotion peer educators.

I have been a teaching assistant for Human Sexual Behaviour (PSYC 3122), Evolutionary Psychology (PSYC 4174), Interpersonal Relationships (PSY 3102), Psychology of Women (PSYC 3121), Cross-Cultural Psychology (PSYC 3126) at the University of Ottawa.

I am a member of the following organizations: Canadian Sex Research Forum (www.csrf.ca), Sex Information and Education Council of Canada (SIECCAN;www.sieccan.org) and the Society for the Scientific Study of Sexuality (www.sexscience.org).

For more information, see www.sexresearchandthecity.com

Email: jocelyn.wentland@uOttawa.ca

© University of Ottawa

Last Updated: 4/1/2014

Contactez-nous

Laboratoire de recherche sur la sexualité humaine

Université d'Ottawa
136 Jean-Jacques Lussier
Pavillon Vanier
pièce 3001
École de psychologie
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
K1N 6N5
Carte

Tél. : 613-562-5800
poste 2220

Elke.Reissing@uOttawa.ca

Biographie

Jocelyn Wentland

Jocelyn WentlandJe suis étudiante au programme de doctorat en Psychologie Expérimentale à l'Université d'Ottawa. J'ai complété un baccalauréat ès arts avec spécialisation en psychologie à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique - Okanagan. Pour ma thèse de spécialisation, j'ai examiné les raisons pour lesquelles les femmes ont des rapports sexuels occasionnels. J'ai complété ma maîtrise ès sciences à l'Université de Guelph où je travaillais avec le Dr. Ed Herold et le Dr. Serge Desmarais sur un projet visant à identifier les principaux concepts qui permettent d'identifier les femmes hautement sexuelles des femmes moins sexuelles. Ma thèse de maîtrise sur les femmes hautement sexuelles a été publiée l'an dernier. Cliquez ici pour un lien vers le document.  

Dans le cadre de mes recherches de doctorat à l'Université d'Ottawa, je mène des études sur les termes différents qui sont utilisés pour décrire les différentes relations sexuelles occasionnelles et comment ces relations diffèrent les uns des autres. Par exemple, comment est-ce qu’on négocierait une relation ‘ami avec avantages’? Qu'est-ce qu'un ‘plan cul’? Comment organisez-vous un ‘hook-up’ avec un ami avec avantages ou un plan cul? Recontacteriez-vous jamais votre liaison sans lendemain?

Je collabore aussi avec des collègues de l'Université de Guelph où nous examinons le script courant des rencontres et comment la technologie change la façon dont on se rencontre et communique avec des partenaires de rencontre potentiels. Certaines des questions qui nous sont notamment intéressés comprennent: Est-il correct de Google quelqu'un avant un premier rencontre? Est-il correct de demander à quelqu’un de sortir avec vous par un texte?

Cette dernière année, j'ai publié un article qualitatif avec un collègue de l'Université de Guelph. Dans le cadre d'un vaste projet sur les femmes qui ont eu des photographes érotiques prises d'eux-mêmes, nous avons interrogé les photographes qui participent à la photographie érotique/ boudoir dans le cadre de leur entreprise de photographie. Cliquez ici pour un lien vers le document.

J’aime faire partie de la communauté d’Ottawa. Je siège au Conseil d’administration pour Planned Parenthood Ottawa et je travaille avec l’équipe de santé sexuelle de l’Université d’Ottawa en promotion de la santé par les pairs éducateurs.  

J’ai été une assistante à l’enseignement pour les cours: Le comportement sexuel chez les humains (PSY 3122), La psychologie de l’évolution (PSY 4174), La psychologie des relations interpersonnelles (PSY 3102), La psychologie des femmes (PSY 3121) et La psychologie interculturelle (PSY 3126) à l’Université d’Ottawa.

Je suis membre des organisations suivants: Le forum canadien de recherche sur la sexualité (www.csrf.ca), le Conseil d’information sur la sexualité et d’éducation du Canada (SIECCAN; www.sieccan.org) et la Société pour l'étude scientifique de la sexualité (www.sexscience.org).

Pour plus d'informations, voir www.sexresearchandthecity.com

Courriel: jocelyn.wentland@uOttawa.ca

© Université d'Ottawa
Pour d'autres renseignements, consultez la liste des points de contact.

Dernières modifications : 4/1/2014